Board and Staff

Board and Staff

Cyril Oberlander Sean Quincey Stacy Young Jane Callahan Libby Maynard Don Smullin
Dr. Armeda Reitzel

Access Humboldt's goal is to be accountable and maintain the highest possible ethics. Individual members and organizational members have the right to vote on the election of Directors.

Access Humboldt Board Members 2018-2019

Dr. Armeda Reitzel - Board Chair
Board Member 2010-present, Board Chair 2013-present
Dr. Armeda Reitzel

Dr. Armeda Reitzel has been a professor of Communication at Humboldt State University since 1981. She teaches courses on American public discourse, popular culture, public speaking, and freedom of expression. Dr. Reitzel’s senior capstone students deliver speeches on their research in a series called “CommPerspectives” that airs on Access Humboldt.

Libby Maynard - Secretary (Elected)
Libby Maynard

Libby Maynard is the executive director and co-founder of The Ink People Center for the Arts. As well as being a professional artist, she has over 40 years of nonprofit administrative experience. She received her BA and MA in art from Humboldt State University, and is a consultant in nonprofit management and program development. She created the Ink People’s DreamMaker program, which has fostered over 300 community-initiated projects in the past 28 years, and currently manages over 90 self-directing projects. She has served on the Access Humboldt Board of Directors from 2006-2013 and 2014-present, serving as Board President from 2007-09, and on the Finance Committee 2009-present. She was also the director of Ink People’s Community Access Television from 1996-2006, and Arcata Community Access Television's President from 1990-91, and Treasurer, 1991-93.

Maura Eastman - Treasurer (Elected)

Stacy Young - (Humboldt County Office of Education)
Stacy Young

Stacy Young began her career as a teacher in 1992 in San Luis Obispo and relocated to Humboldt County with her family in 2006. She is currently the Visual & Performing Arts Program Manager for the Humboldt County Office of Education and the Region 1 Arts Lead for CCSESA, which encompasses Del Norte through Sonoma counties. Stacy is active in programming arts opportunities for Humboldt’s PK – 12th grade students, and professional development for their teachers. Stacy’s family loves the beauty and artistry of Humboldt.

Sean Quincey - (County of Humboldt)
Sean Quincey

Sean Quincey is the Access Humboldt representative for the County of Humboldt. One of his primary roles at the county is to work with the media and find ways to allow the public to easily find out what is happening with their local government. He has worked with Access Humboldt to produce several award-winning programs on county government.

Jane Callahan - (Appointed)
Jane Callahan

Jane Callahan has worked in the nonprofit sector for her entire career. Areas of expertise include nonprofit development and management, community building initiatives, fundraising and strategic planning. She has a background in international media development, public health, evaluation and public policy. She is a graduate of HSU and lives in Eureka, CA.

Jan Kraepelien - (Elected)

Janet Luzzi - (Mayors' Select Committee)

Shelley Mitchell - (NorCAN)

Don Smullin - (Elected)
Don Smullin

Don Smullin served as Executive Director for the Eureka Chamber of Commerce from 2013 to 2017, and for St. Vincent de Paul in Eureka from 2010 to 2012. From 2003 to 2008, Smullin was General Manager for the Eureka Television Group, moving the company from a single station to five. Born and raised in Eureka, he is deeply involved in the community and serves on the Boards of the Humboldt Arts Council, Hospice of Humboldt, Butler Valley and Access Humboldt.

Cyril Oberlander - (Humboldt State University)
Cyril Oberlander

Cyril Oberlander is the University Library Dean at Humboldt State University since July 2014. Previously, he served as the Director of Milne Library at the State University of New York at Geneseo since 2011, and as the Principal Investigator of the Open SUNY Textbook Project, a multi-institution grant and libraries funded open textbook publishing initiative. Prior to that, he served as the Associate Director of Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo and as an internal consultant to the IDS Project, a 75 library cooperative in New York, since 2008. He also served as the Director of Interlibrary Services at the University of Virginia Library from 2005-2008, the Head of Interlibrary Loan at Portland State University from 1996-2005, as well as various roles in Access Services at Portland State University since 1987.

Keith Snow-Flamer - (College of the Redwoods)

Elaine Weinreb - (League of Women Voters)

Rob Standish - (Eureka City Schools)

Former Board Members (As of July 2018)

Helen Andrews
Rob Arkley
Jason Beaver
Elizabeth Blessing
Jenny Bowen
Barbara Bryant
Jim Carlson
Vanessa Christman
Patrick Cleary
Kathleen Cloney-Gardiner
Paul DeMark
Cathy Dickerson
Seth Frankel
Margaret ‘Peg’ Gardner
Barbara Groom
Rick Gustafson
Charlie Heinberg 
Jim Hoff
Harold Horne
Michele Hutchins
Lynn Hubbard 
Rick Jordan
Simona Keat
Shawn Kohrman
Richard Leonard
Chag Lowry
John McBrearty
Eileen McGee
Steve McHaney
Cheryl Nicholson
Amy Nilsen
Joseph Pawlick
Leigh Pierre-Oetker
Paul Rodrigues
Rollin Richmond
Monica Rivera
Phil Smith-Hanes
Bob Steffen
Steve Stratton
Michael Twombly
Jessemyn Tunnell (Reid)
Marcel van Dissell
Amanda Windsor
Mary Beth Wolford
Victor Zazueta

Details about our Board of Directors

Access Humboldt's goal is to be accountable and maintain the highest possible ethics. Individual members and organizational members have the right to vote on the election of Directors.

The Board of Directors of Access Humboldt is designed to represent the broad base of community interests as reflected in the variety of nonprofit organizations and institutions serving Humboldt County as well as access producers and persons with knowledge and expertise related to the mission of Access Humboldt.

The By-Laws state that six Directors are elected by the membership; two Directors are "Appointed Directors", appointed by the majority of the Board; and seven are “Designated Directors" consisting of one Director appointed by the Humboldt County Office of Education representing K-12 schools, one Director each representing post secondary educational institutions (appointed by Humboldt State University & College of the Redwoods), one Director appointed by the League of Women Voters of Humboldt County, one Director designated by Northern California Association of Nonprofits (NorCAN) to represent public benefit nonprofit organizations, one Director appointed by the Mayors’ Select Committee to represent Cities of Arcata, Eureka, Fortuna, Blue Lake, Ferndale and Rio Dell, one Director appointed by the Eureka City Schools, and one Director appointed by the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors to represent the County of Humboldt.

Elected Board members serve 3-year terms (maximum two consecutive terms.) Designated and appointed members serve one-year terms (up to six years.)