Board of Directors

Access Humboldt's goal is to be accountable and to maintain the highest possible ethical standards for governance. Individual members and organizational members have the right to vote on the election of Board Members.

Our Board is designed to represent the broad base of community interests as reflected in the variety of nonprofit organizations and institutions serving Humboldt County, as well as access producers and persons with knowledge and expertise related to the mission of Access Humboldt. The By-Laws state that six Directors are elected by the membership, two Directors are Appointed Directors chosen by the majority of the Board, and seven are Designated Directors representing the Humboldt County Office of Education, Humboldt State University, College of the Redwoods, the League of Women Voters of Humboldt County, Northern California Association of Nonprofits, the Mayors’ Select Committee (representing the Cities of Arcata, Eureka, Fortuna, Blue Lake, Ferndale and Rio Dell), Eureka City Schools, and the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors.

Elected board members serve three-year terms (with a maximum of two consecutive terms.) Designated and appointed members serve one-year terms (up to six years total).

Dr. Armeda Reitzel - Board Chair

Board Member 2010-Present, Board Chair 2013-Present

Dr. Armeda Reitzel has been a professor of Communication at Humboldt State University since 1981. She teaches courses on American public discourse, popular culture, public speaking, and freedom of expression. Dr. Reitzel’s senior capstone students deliver speeches on their research in a series called “CommPerspectives” that airs on Access Humboldt.

Photo of Libby Maynard

Libby Maynard - Secretary (Elected)

Libby Maynard is the executive director and co-founder of The Ink People Center for the Arts. As well as being a professional artist, she has over 40 years of nonprofit administrative experience. She received her BA and MA in art from Humboldt State University, and is a consultant in nonprofit management and program development. She created the Ink People’s DreamMaker program, which has fostered over 300 community-initiated projects in the past 28 years, and currently manages over 90 self-directing projects. She has served on the Access Humboldt Board of Directors from 2006-2013 and 2014-present, serving as Board President from 2007-09, and on the Finance Committee 2009-present. She was also the director of Ink People’s Community Access Television from 1996-2006, and Arcata Community Access Television's President from 1990-91, and Treasurer, 1991-93.

Maura Eastman - Treasurer (Elected)

Maura Eastman is the Director of Redwood Community Action Agency-Youth Service Bureau.

Stacy Young - (Humboldt County Office of Education)

Stacy Young began her career as a teacher in 1992 in San Luis Obispo and relocated to Humboldt County with her family in 2006. She is currently the Visual & Performing Arts Program Manager for the Humboldt County Office of Education and the Region 1 Arts Lead for CCSESA, which encompasses Del Norte through Sonoma counties. Stacy is active in programming arts opportunities for Humboldt’s PK – 12th grade students, and professional development for their teachers. Stacy’s family loves the beauty and artistry of Humboldt.

Nick Wilczek - (County of Humboldt)

Nick Wilczek is the Director of Humboldt County Libraries. He joined the board of Access Humboldt in 2018.

Jane Callahan - (Appointed)

Jane Callahan has worked in the nonprofit sector for her entire career. Areas of expertise include nonprofit development and management, community building initiatives, fundraising and strategic planning. She has a background in international media development, public health, evaluation and public policy. She is a graduate of HSU and lives in Eureka, CA.

Jan Kraepelien - (Elected)

Jan Kraepelien is one of the founding board members of Access Humboldt, and a retired professor of Journalism at Humboldt State University.

Janet Luzzi - (Appointed)

Janet Luzzi recently retired after 20 years of service with the City of Arcata.

Heidi Terbrack - (Elected)

Heidi Terbrack is a Nonprofit Resources Coordinator with the Northern California Association of Nonprofits. She joined the board of Access Humboldt in 2018.

Cyril Oberlander - (Humboldt State University)

Cyril Oberlander is the University Library Dean at Humboldt State University since July 2014. Previously, he served as the Director of Milne Library at the State University of New York at Geneseo since 2011, and as the Principal Investigator of the Open SUNY Textbook Project, a multi-institution grant and libraries funded open textbook publishing initiative. Prior to that, he served as the Associate Director of Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo and as an internal consultant to the IDS Project, a 75 library cooperative in New York, since 2008. He also served as the Director of Interlibrary Services at the University of Virginia Library from 2005-2008, the Head of Interlibrary Loan at Portland State University from 1996-2005, as well as various roles in Access Services at Portland State University since 1987.

Elaine Weinreb - (League of Women Voters)

Elaine Weinreb writes for the North Coast Journal and the Mad River Union.

Dr. Keith Flamer - (College of the Redwoods)

Dr. Keith Flamer was named President/Superintendent of College of the Redwoods effective April 11, 2017. He holds a Bachelor's Degree from Eastern Washington University, a Master's Degree in Public Administration from Eastern Washington, and a Doctorate of Philosophy in Organizational Leadership from Gonzaga University.

Not pictured:

Rob Standish - (Eureka City Schools)

Former Board Members (As of January 2019)

Helen Andrews

Rob Arkley

Jason Beaver

Elizabeth Blessing

Jenny Bowen

Barbara Bryant

Jim Carlson

Vanessa Christman

Patrick Cleary

Kathleen Cloney-Gardiner

Paul DeMark

Cathy Dickerson

Seth Frankel

Margaret ‘Peg’ Gardner

Barbara Groom

Rick Gustafson

Charlie Heinberg

Jim Hoff

Harold Horne

Michele Hutchins

Lynn Hubbard

Rick Jordan

Simona Keat

Shawn Kohrman

Richard Leonard

Chag Lowry

John McBrearty

Eileen McGee

Steve McHaney

Shelley Mitchell

Cheryl Nicholson

Amy Nilsen

Joseph Pawlick

Leigh Pierre-Oetker

Sean Quincey

Paul Rodrigues

Rollin Richmond

Monica Rivera

Phil Smith-Hanes

Don Smullin

Bob Steffen

Steve Stratton

Michael Twombly

Jessemyn Tunnell (Reid)

Marcel van Dissell

Amanda Windsor

Mary Beth Wolford

Victor Zazueta

Board Documents

Board Member Job Description

AH Board Member Job Description.docx

Letter to Applicants

AH Board Letter to Applicants.docx

Board Member Application

AH Board Application 2014-15.docx

AH Bylaws (Last Revised January 2012)

Access Humboldt Bylaws.pdf